Ayano Yoshizumi announced as the winner of the 2021 Tom Malone Prize

Design / Life

The winner of the 2021 Tom Malone Prize for Australian glass artists is Ayano Yoshizumi for her work ICON #2010.

ICON #2010 was selected as the winning piece from a competitive short list of thirteen works by Australian artists including Kate Baker (NSW), Clare Belfrage (SA), Hannah Gason (ACT), Marcel Hoogstad Hay (SA), Rita Kellaway (SA), Gerry King (SA), Jennifer Kemarre Martiniello (ACT), Peter Kovacsy (WA), Jeremy Lepisto (NSW), Madeline Prowd (SA), Kirstie Rea (NSW), Ayano Yoshizumi (SA) and Madisyn Zabel (ACT).

This year’s judges include Australian glass artist and past Tom Malone Prize winner Jessica Loughlin, AGWA Foundation Benefactor Sheryl Grimwood, AGWA Foundation Governor Elizabeth Malone and AGWA Curator of West Australian and Australian Art Robert Cook.

About Ayano’s winning piece, the Judges stated: “In selecting Ayano Yoshizumi’s work as the winner of the Tom Malone Prize 2021 we honour and support a young artist with an incredible creative future ahead of her. The trio of pieces that make up her composition ICON #2010 are an assured and convincing statement about the boldness required to truly capture the sensation of working with glass as a liquid-solid. Each element feels just barely held in place by its outside surfaces and textures are deftly employed to allow all the viewer’s senses to imaginatively engage. Underpinning the drama of the work is, on one hand, an almost formal quality to the markings and approach, and on the other, a refined yet wholly relaxed casualness to assemblage that suggests her brilliant alertness to the moment-to-moment possibilities of glass making. This double nature of the work lends it considerable depth, charm and a surprising intensity as an aesthetically mutable structure. We hope it encourages a new generation of innovators and risk takers in this vital medium, and are proud to bring Yoshizumi into the pantheon of Tom Malone Prize winners.”

The Tom Malone Prize is a highly respected annual event within the Australian glass arts community and it has played an integral role in the Gallery’s acquisition of works by Australia’s most inspiring, innovative and accomplished artists in this medium.

As an acquisitive prize, each year’s winning entrant is awarded $15,000 and their work becomes a part of the State Art Collection where it joins works by previous winners: Clare Belfrage, Gabriella Bisetto, Charles Butcher, Cobi Cockburn, Brian Corr, Mel Douglas, Mark Eliott, Deirdre Feeney, Kevin Gordon, Marc Leib, Jessica Loughlin, Tom Moore, Nick Mount and Benjamin Sewell.

Now in its 19th year, the Tom Malone Prize continues with the support of Ms Sheryl Grimwood, AGWA Foundation Benefactor. The Tom Malone Prize 2021 is a free exhibition on display at AGWA until 19 July 2021.

Artist statement:
“Through my practice I am interested in the use of glass as an expressive material as well as using space and colour as primary tools for considering the work as a three-dimensional canvas with glass blowing, kiln-forming, and enamelling to strike a unique balance between art and craft. These conceptual works are influenced by Fauvism in her strong and expressive use of colour as well as the serendipitous nature of the hot-glass medium. The building of both internal and external spaces using blown glass and painting creates a constructed, transparent space. The Japanese concept ma, meaning negative space, identifies.”

Curated by Robert Cook: AGWA Curator of West Australian and Australian Art

Exhibition: On display until 19 July 2021. Wed – Sunday 10am – 5pm

AGWA: Perth Cultural Centre, Perth, WA 6000