Design / Life

WALYALUP CIVIC CENTRE THE NEW ‘CIVIC HEART OF FREMANTLE’ TAKES OUT TOP HONOUR AT WA ARCHITECTURE AWARDS Walyalup Civic Centre has taken home the honour of the George Temple Poole award at the 2022 Australian Institute of Architects, WA Architecture Awards.

The project architects, Kerry Hill Architects, were announced as the recipient of the most prestigious award via the virtual Presentation Evening on Thursday, June 9. 2022

WA Architecture Awards Chair of Juries, Dr Simon Pendal said the project is a beautifully designed building that is effortless in its simplicity; a place that is intuitive to enjoy and welcoming to its community.

‘For the architects, the resolution of a complex programme within the project has allowed for access through the building at varying times over multiple levels in a manner that lifts expectations and then delivers. It has become a place that welcomes the entire community.’

Dr Pendal applauded the decorated and distinguished Australian firm behind the work, saying ‘this is the great achievement of Kerry Hill Architects, that with elegance, exactitude and purpose they have quietly resolved a complex brief’.

Not only does the building boast spaces of efficiency, economy and elegance but also sustainable design. Sustainability initiatives include a continuous perforated-metal veil providing shade, windows that automatically adjust to save energy and courtyards with deciduous trees to create a microclimate.

It was a combination of passive and active strategies that saw Walyalup Civic Centre receive a Commendation for Sustainable Architecture (WA). The building was also recognised with The Jeffrey Howlett Award for Public Architecture, The John Septimus Roe Award for Urban Design and The Julius Elischer Award for Interior Architecture.

From the public realm to private spaces, the Marshall Clifton Award for Residential Architecture – Houses (New) was awarded to Jimmy’s House by MJA Studio with Studio Roam and Iota. Showing small is beautiful, this exceptional house addresses broader agendas including neighbourhood generosity, passive environmental performance, and biodiversity.

Australian Institute of Architects WA Chapter President, Sandy Anghie said ‘While Australian homes are now among the world’s largest, with ever diminishing gardens, Jimmy’s House takes a stance against these trends. It shows how beautiful, high quality spaces can be achieved on a tight 256sqm site with an environmentally sensitive design. Incredibly the home’s planted gardens and courtyards are greater in area than its lot size.’

Taking out top honours in the Commercial Architecture category, receiving The Ross Chisholm and Gil Nicol Award, was Links Kennedy Bay – Golf Clubhouse. The Commercial Architecture category also saw ABN Group Headquarters by Hassell and 251 Vista Green by COX Architecture receive Architecture Awards, and Commendations presented to Wolf Lane Office by COX Architecture and Karrinyup Shopping Centre by Hames Sharley and TRCB.

The Balcatta Senior High School Redevelopment by Hassell achieved The Hillson Beasley Award for Educational Architecture, with Kiara College – Additions and Improvements by With Architecture Studio receiving an Architecture Award and a commendation presented to Mother Seton Centre by Parry and Rosenthal Architects.

Ms Anghie, commended the State’s architects for the incredible contribution they make in shaping our city and state – with some exceptional projects across the award categories.

‘From reimagined public places and spaces, to environment-responsive homes, and state-of-the-art education precincts, the award winners show a commitment to sustainability and the community.’

‘This year’s entries have demonstrated how thoughtful and considered architecture gives a community ownership over a space. They’ve shown us that good design goes a long way in fostering stronger connectivity and engagement, important themes as we reconnect post COVID and seek to reactivate public places,’ said Ms Anghie.

‘We’ve seen that in particular with our George Temple Poole Award recipient, Walyalup Civic Centre – a carefully designed collection of spaces that encourages all manner of uses by the city and it’s people.’

‘Each year The Australian Institute of Architects honours projects that focus on community and people as much as they do design, so in this spirit – it’s great to be able to award a new prize this year – The Brian Kidd Enabling Architecture Prize for accessible environments to KPA Architects,’ said Ms Anghie.

All Western Australian Named and Architecture Award winners will progress to the Australian Institute of Architects National Awards to be judged against the very best architectural works in the country.

Full list of winning projects:

GEORGE TEMPLE POOLE AWARD Walyalup Civic Centre by Kerry Hill Architects (KHA)

COMMERCIAL ARCHITECTURE The Ross Chisholm and Gil Nicol Award for Commercial Architecture – Links Kennedy Bay – Golf Clubhouse by Gresley Abas

EDUCATIONAL ARCHITECTURE The Hillson Beasley Award for Educational Architecture – Balcatta Senior High School Redevelopment by Hassell

HERITAGE ARCHITECTURE Architecture Award – Fremantle Town Hall by Hocking Heritage + Architecture

INTERIOR ARCHITECTURE The Julius Elischer Award for Interior Architecture – Walyalup Civic Centre by Kerry Hill Architects (KHA)

PUBLIC ARCHITECTURE The Jeffrey Howlett Award for Public Architecture – Walyalup Civic Centre by Kerry Hill Architects (KHA)

RESIDENTIAL ARCHITECTURE – HOUSES (ALTERATIONS AND ADDITIONS) The Peter Overman Award for Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations and Additions) – Higham Road

RESIDENTIAL ARCHITECTURE – HOUSES (NEW) The Marshall Clifton Award for Residential Architecture – Houses (New) – Jimmy’s House by MJA Studio with Studio Roam and Iota

RESIDENTIAL ARCHITECTURE – MULTIPLE HOUSING The Harold Krantz Award for Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing – Guildford Grammar School New Boarding House by With Architecture Studio

SMALL PROJECT ARCHITECTURE The Iwan Iwanoff Award for Small Project Architecture – Gathering Place by Penhale & Winter with Sandra Harben

SUSTAINABLE ARCHITECTURE Commendation – Walyalup Civic Centre by Kerry Hill Architects (KHA)

ENDURING ARCHITECTURE AWARD The Richard Roach Jewell Award for Enduring Architecture – Christ Church Grammar School Chapel by Hobbs

BLUESCOPE COLORBOND STEEL ARCHITECTURE COLORBOND® Award for Steel Architecture – RFBYC Dinghy & Training Centre by MJA Studio

MONDOLUCE WA LIGHTING AWARD The Mondoluce WA Lighting Award – Wolf Lane Office by COX Architecture

THE BRIAN KIDD ENABLING ARCHITECTURE PRIZE Architecture Award – Rocky Bay Girrawheen by KPA Architects

EMAGN PROJECT AWARD – Rockingham Youth Centre by SITE Architecture Studio

EMERGING ARCHITECT PRIZE (EAP) Matt Delroy-Carr of MDC Architects

(Feature Image: Urban Walyalup Civic Centre: Kerry Hill Architects (KHA). Image: Gertjan Groen)